Ingleborough in winter Bellarmine
Home | Talks & walks | Special eventsPractical activities | PublicationsLocal literatureLinksAbout usContact | Copyright | Search

Talks & walks
Our talks are held at the Community Centre in Ingleton. Each talk is on the 3rd Monday of the month, starting at 7.30pm. Non members are most welcome. There is a small admission charge, which includes light refreshment.

In addition to our regular programme of talks and walks, we also offer a number of special events throughout the year.

Self guided archaeology walks on Ingleborough - click here

Programme for 2019

Talk
Monday, 21 January
Roger Martlew
The Ruin of Britain? Late Antiquity in the Uplands of Northern England

Talk
Monday, 18 February
John Acres
The Lancaster Canal: Past, Present and Future
Talk
Monday, 18 March
Members of the Committee
The surveying of High Brae and Studfold, plus the update of the Ingleborough Cairn Survey

Talk
Monday, 15 April
Members of the Committee
Presentation by the Documentary Group - the diaries of George Smith, Land Agent

Walk
Saturday, 18 May (afternoon)
The Gunpowder Trail
A guided walk, led by Robin Yates, exploring the link between the Lancaster Canal and the Gunpowder Works at Gatebeck, Cumbria

Walk
Saturday, 15 June (afternoon)
The Hoffman Kiln, Langcliffe
A guided walk, led by David Johnson

Walk
Monday, 15 July
The Manor House, Ilkley
A visit, led by John Cockshott

Talk
Monday 16 September
Dan Elsworth
The excavation behind Skipton Town Hall

Talk
Monday, 21 October
John Cockshott
The Origins of Roman Ilkely (with the Annual General Meeting at the start of the evening).

Talk
Monday, 18 November
Paul Darlo
The Oaks Colliery Disaster

Talk
Monday, 16 December
David Johnson
Anglo-Saxon North Craven, the final chapter: Clapham Bottoms (followed by a Christmas celebration of drinks and mince pies)